Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Get Earnings and Seasonal Trends - Subscribe Today!

Advanced

Anyone doing big chart trades for recent up move?

Posted by sonicwave 
Anyone doing big chart trades for recent up move?
May 28, 2014 04:48PM
I have a general doubt about trading during the recent up move during the "latter" part of May. I am a big chart trader (Daily and 233). According to the market calendar, it says to expect heavy profit taking in latter half of May. Since, stocks are generally trending up I assumed this meant "heavy profit taking" would mean down. Recently, we've had a nice up move. Was it "incorrect" for me to stay on the sidelines since I thought stocks were not following the market calendar?

Thanks in advance!
Re: Anyone doing big chart trades for recent up move?
May 28, 2014 05:09PM
I read a great article recently on market mantra, like "sell in May and go away." It made a lot of sense because it's purpose was to reiterate that the market, most of the time, fools the masses. If you look at over all market headlines recently, everyone has been calling for a correction....since the masses are wrong a good percentage of the time.....wa la, we had a nice rally. I would say that the heavy profit taking is still going to occur but would be delayed further in to the summer time trading zone due to all of the expectations of a market wide correction. I also noted that the RUT and the NAS have seen some serious selling, into the over sold territory....therefore I expected an oversold bounce on both of those indices. Those indices being so large would naturally carry the Dow and the S&P into new high territory. All indices are pretty much in tune, in terms of overbought so maybe we will see some synchronized selling from here.

Have a good one!!
May 29, 2014 08:15AM